- Of the companies ranking for this search, only Angi spells out how it charges, and it does that in an SEC filing rather than on its website.
- Service Direct and 33 Mile Radius both sell exclusive leads. Neither publishes a rate, though Service Direct lets you set your own.
- The only published HVAC benchmark we could source is $51 per lead, measured across 409 Local Services Ads accounts in February 2026.
- Judge any quote on what a booked job ends up costing you, not on the price per lead.
Quick answers:
- Who are the main HVAC lead generation companies?
- How much should an HVAC lead cost in 2026?
- Are exclusive HVAC leads worth paying more for?
- Why will these companies not publish their prices?
- Does Angi charge you if the customer never hires you?
Search “best HVAC lead generation companies” and much of page one is “top companies” lists written by marketing agencies, which generally place themselves on them. That is what happens when the people writing the rankings also sell the service. We buy and sell leads for a living, so we compete with several of the companies below. We can also tell you what they actually sell, and when one of them fits you better than we do.
This is not a ranking. Ranking these firms one through ten would mean comparing prices, and most of them will not publish one.
What Each HVAC Lead Generation Company Actually Sells
The comparison worth making is about what you are billed for, whether anyone else gets the same lead, and what you are locked into. Those three things move your real cost more than any vendor’s claim about lead quality. The table below is current as of August 2026.
| Company | What you pay for | Exclusive? | Contract shape | Publishes a price? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Angi | Consumer matches, plus an annual membership | Not disclosed in its filing | Basic annual membership, with referral fees charged on top | No rate card, but the model is described in its 10-K |
| Service Direct | Valid inbound phone calls | Yes, stated | “No term contract so if you aren’t seeing results you can cancel at any time” | No published rate, but you choose your own cost per lead |
| 33 Mile Radius | Each valid lead, at a flat rate | Yes, stated | Not disclosed; pricing on application | No |
| Google Local Services Ads | Leads, billed per lead | No, several businesses can be contacted | Self-serve, no vendor contract | No official rate, but independent benchmark data exists |
Where a cell says “not disclosed”, the company does not publish the answer and we are not going to guess at it.

Angi Publishes Its Model in an SEC Filing, Not on Its Site
Angi is the only company here whose lead business shows up in an SEC filing, and that changes what you can learn about it. Its annual report for the year ended December 2025 describes the four ways professionals bought from it: “full-priced leads within a monthly budget, access to discounted leads in a subscription package, double opt-in leads on an a-la-carte basis and pre-priced offerings.”
Two details in that filing matter more than anything on the marketing site.
The first is how the money is earned. Angi’s revenue includes “fees paid by Pros for consumer matches (regardless of whether the Pro ultimately provides the requested service)”. You are buying the introduction. Whether the homeowner hires you is your problem, which is true of most lead sellers, but Angi has to state it in writing for investors.
The second is that price is explicitly variable. The filing says lead revenue “varies based upon several factors, including the service requested, product experience offered, and geographic location of service”. So anyone quoting you a single national Angi price for HVAC is describing something the company itself does not claim to have.
The same filing reports roughly 111,000 average monthly active professionals in the final quarter of 2025, across more than 500 service categories.
Neither Page-One Vendor Publishes a Rate, and One Lets You Set It
Service Direct and 33 Mile Radius both rank for this search. Both sell something different from a shared lead.
Service Direct: exclusive inbound calls, and you set the cost per lead
Service Direct sells inbound calls, and it is direct about exclusivity: “No more sharing junk leads with competitors. Just answer your phone when we make it ring.” It states there is no term contract and that you can cancel at any time.
On price it does something the others do not. Rather than quoting you a rate, it hands you the dial: “Choose your Cost Per Lead based on the value you see and the amount of calls you want.” You set the number, and your volume follows from it. That is a genuinely different arrangement from a vendor rate card, and it means the useful question is not what a lead costs but what you can afford to pay for one.
33 Mile Radius: exclusive leads at a flat rate it does not publish
33 Mile Radius sells exclusive leads at what it calls a “low flat-rate for each valid lead”, delivered as phone calls and texts. It defines billable narrowly. The caller has to be the homeowner or decision-maker, actually requesting HVAC service, inside your agreed service area. It also states it does not charge for wrong numbers. The flat rate itself is not published anywhere on the page.
A defined billable-lead standard is a real protection, and no-contract terms beat being locked into a term you cannot exit. Neither of those tells you what you will spend.
The One Published HVAC Benchmark to Judge Any Quote Against
If nobody will publish a rate, you need an outside number.
SearchLight Digital sells marketing analytics to home services contractors and publishes benchmarks from the accounts it tracks. Its February 2026 dataset covers $6.72 million in Google Local Services Ads spend across 888 contractors and 126,650 leads. The blended cost per lead was $53. Across the 409 HVAC accounts specifically, it was $51.
Worth knowing what that sample is before you lean on it. These are contractors who bought marketing analytics software, so they are likely better measured than the average shop, and the figure is an average rather than a floor. Plenty of those accounts paid more than $51.
The same dataset reports what happened after the lead arrived. HVAC leads booked at 44.0 percent, on an average ticket of $2,110.
Those two figures give you a calculation you can run on any quote before you sign anything. The next number is our arithmetic on their published figures, not something SearchLight reports.
At $51 per lead and a 44.0 percent book rate, you spend roughly $116 in lead cost for every job you actually book. Against a $2,110 average ticket, that is about 5.5 percent of revenue going to lead acquisition.
Now run the same two steps on whatever a vendor quotes you. Divide their price per lead by the book rate you honestly expect, then compare the result to your average ticket. Say a vendor quotes $150 for an exclusive lead and you expect 60 percent to book. That is $250 per booked job, against a benchmark of $116.
The book rate is where this goes wrong, because it is the number vendors are keenest to supply. 33 Mile Radius publishes exactly such a figure: “Our contractors set appointments for 70% to 80% of the leads we generate.” Set an appointment is not the same as book a job, and a rate measured across the vendor’s whole client base is not a forecast of yours. Run your own number from your own closed jobs, then use theirs as the ceiling you are being sold.
Who Each One Suits, Including When It Is Not Us
Angi: who it suits
Angi suits contractors who want volume they do not have to generate, and who have the staff to work a lot of introductions quickly. If your close rate on cold homeowner enquiries is strong, paying per match is survivable. If it is weak, that clause about paying regardless of outcome will hurt.
Service Direct: who it suits
Service Direct suits contractors whose problem is the phone not ringing, and who can answer it live. Because you set your own cost per lead, it also suits anyone who already knows what a call is worth to them. Check the billable definition before you sign: what counts as a connected call, and what happens when nobody answers.
33 Mile Radius: who it suits
33 Mile Radius suits contractors who want exclusivity and a clean standard for what counts as billable, and who are willing to have a pricing conversation to get it.
Google Local Services Ads: who it suits
Google Local Services Ads suits almost everyone as a starting point, because it is the market average the benchmark above is measured on, and Google bills you on the same unit: “Pay only for leads related to your business and the services you offer.” If a vendor is charging you well above $51 per lead, you should be able to say what the difference buys.
Elevarus: when we are the wrong call
Elevarus is not the right fit if you want to pay only when a job is booked. We sell calls and leads, priced per call or per lead, and we do not sell booked jobs. Some companies in this space do lead with booked-job outcomes. If that is the deal you want, buy it from them.
For the wider picture on how these decisions play out, see our guides to HVAC lead generation and to exclusive versus shared leads.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who are the main HVAC lead generation companies?
As of August 2026, the vendors showing up for this search are 33 Mile Radius and Service Direct, alongside Google Local Services Ads, which is a platform rather than a vendor. Angi is the largest company selling homeowner leads to contractors, which is why it sits in the table above. Much of the rest of page one is “top companies” lists written by marketing agencies.
How much should an HVAC lead cost in 2026?
The only published benchmark we could source is SearchLight Digital’s February 2026 dataset, which put HVAC at $51 per lead across 409 contractor accounts on Google Local Services Ads. That is an average across tracked accounts, not a floor or a rate card. Your real number depends on your market and your book rate.
Are exclusive HVAC leads worth paying more for?
Sometimes, and the arithmetic decides it rather than the label. An exclusive lead earns its premium only if it books at a high enough rate to beat a cheaper shared lead on cost per booked job. Divide each price by its realistic book rate and compare the two results.
Why will these companies not publish their prices?
Price varies by market, by service and by volume, and publishing a number invites comparison on that number alone. Angi’s own filing says lead revenue varies by service requested, product offered and location. Service Direct takes the other route and lets you choose the rate yourself.
Does Angi charge you if the customer never hires you?
Yes. Its 2025 annual report describes revenue from fees paid by professionals for consumer matches regardless of whether the professional ultimately provides the service. You are buying the introduction, not the job.
If you want a straight answer about what calls cost in your market, ask us and we will give you a number on the first conversation.
<div class=”elv-cite-this”>
Cite this page: Elevarus, “Best HVAC Lead Generation Companies for 2026: What Each One Actually Sells”, elevarus.com. Vendor terms sourced from each company’s published pages and Angi Inc’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. Benchmark figures from SearchLight Digital’s February 2026 Local Services Ads dataset. Current as of August 2026; reviewed quarterly.
</div>





